
 

Rule 8 Section 1d 2 Effect and Rule 6 Effect Sections 1-7 
Situation/Play: 

No outs, Runner on 3rd base.  Pitcher makes a pitch, the first base umpire calls “illegal pitch”, the 
batter swings at the pitch, but is obstructed by the catcher, despite the obstruction the batter hits 
safely to F9. How does the play stand? 

Ruling: 

The umpire must enforce the catcher’s obstruction. Rule 8 section 1d 2 Effect. 

If the runner from 3rd did not advance, you must give the offensive team manager the option of 
taking the result of the play or enforcing obstruction and awarding the batter 1B.  If the coach 
wishes to take the result of the play, you would enforce the illegal pitch which again would be the 
option of either the result of the play or enforcement of the illegal pitch.  Rule 6 Effect section 1-7. 

If the manager again elects to take the result of the play, the batter-runner stays on 1st base.  If the 
manager takes the enforcement of the illegal pitch, a ball is awarded to the batter and the runner on 
3rd is awarded home. 

If the runner from 3rd had advanced safely on the hit, then the violations of catcher’s obstruction 
and the illegal pitch are ignored and the batter-runner stays on first and runner from 3rd score 
counts. 

Rules Cited:  Rule 8 Section 1d 2 Effect and Rule 6 Effect Sections 1-7 


